Chunky Twists on your Natural Hair Only – My Review


Twists are one my favorite protective styles for natural hair. Twisting natural hair can help stretch the hair to avoid tangles. But it also provides a great style option that is versatile. They can be pinned up in a bun or updo, or worn down to show that length! Of course, my favorite thing about them is that I can still have neat hair while I’m going to the gym or working out 5x a week.

(Twists done on blown dry hair)

 

As I am experimenting with long term protective styling, I fell in love again with twists, but specifically Chunky Twists on my natural hair. Instead of the usual tight mini twists that I’m used to, I decided to switch it up. I like the look of using additional hair like marley hair for twists, but I hate how heavy and thick they are. So I stretch my hair using my tension method blow drying technique, or a braid out using about 4-6 braids in my hair, and loosely twist my hair.

Chunky Twists done on air dried braid out natural hair ThatClassyAfroChic

(Twists done on hair that was air dried, using braid out method)

I use a light gel and leave in to keep my hair bouncy but moisturized. They are just like regular twists, except you don’t twists tightly, and you move quickly down the section. I’ve done them both with blown out hair, and hair that has been stretched with braids. In my opinion, the blown out hair is more fluffy, while the air dried natural hair still twisted kinda tightly.

So far these are my favorite compared to the box braids done on my natural hair Let me know if you try them out πŸ˜‰

 

What’s your favorite protective style? Let me know in the comments!

 

Facebook: facebook.com/thatclassyafrochic

Instagram: Instagram.com/thatclassafrochic

Leave a Reply

