Do I regret Dyeing My Natural Hair?


I get asked this questions sometimes, especially when I talk about how my hair has changed, or the different methods I have to take to style my hair.

However, my answer is no, I don’t regret dyeing my natural hair!

If you can’t tell by my Instagram or blog 🙂 I enjoy the different vibrant hues that hair can hold. It’s beautiful to me and I enjoy being able to maintain my hair long, while still having color.

One thing that has helped in easing my nerves is being prepared and knowing what my hair could handle, and what I need to stop doing after dyeing my hair.

In 2014, I did experience some color damage because I didn’t know what I was doing at the time. I had no knowledge of color safety procedures, color-treated hair care routines, or products that would benefit my hair.

After that horrible experience, I had to slowly trim off my hair (my version of a big chop haha) and nurture my hair back to health.

In the meantime I gained knowledge on the proper methods of achieving color and how to maintain natural hair when it’s color treated. Just Recently I’ve been on a protective style challenge trying to ensure my hair stays long by minimizing my breakage. You can see some tidbits on my journey in my recent blog post “What Wearing Protective Styles Did to My Natural Hair

Natural Hair Growth April - June 2017 That Classy Afro Chic (1)

I think more than ever, I’m glad to have (long) color treated natural hair and I have goals to grow it to great lengths! I do have plans to dye my hair again, this time without bleaching, so stay tuned for that!

Have any questions about my natural hair? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Do I regret Dyeing My Natural Hair?

Leave a Reply

