If Your Edges are Disappearing, It Ain’t a Protective Style!


if-your-disappearing-edges-not-protective-style-thatclassyafrochic

I’m always on my Facebook or Instagram scrolling through natural hair pics  to look for protective style inspiration.

However, I always see these images and snapchat videos of people proud of their “protective style” that is pulling their hair so tight, you could see their brain.

And I’m always like why??

Just because it’s braids, twists, or cornrows that does not make the style protective!

So then, what is a protective hair style?

A protective style is one where your hair is styled in a manner that protects your strands, ends, and scalp/edges. These are often called low-manipulation styles that don’t involve heavy brushing or combing, tight pulling, and edge snatching qualities.

How to know if your style is protective:

Before getting a “protective style” you should ask your self these questions:

Will my hair be snatched to high heaven?

Do my edges need to be sacrificed to enjoy this style?

Will I probably grab pain medicine after the style is complete?

Will I have a hard time sleeping on the style due to pain?

Will the heat of hades and satan’s palace need to be used to set my style?

Will I have to pray to the Natural Hair angels after taking the style down, in hopes my hair is ok???

If you answered yes, to any of these questions. It’s best to stay away from the style (or person doing the style)…

Am I saying that box braids, marley twists, crochet braids, weaves, cornrows, french braids, etc. are bad? Nah.

But if you’re edges are screaming, and your scalp is itching because your hair is being pulled too tight at the scalp, you may want to consider a different style. Or at least loosen up the grip at the roots when styling.

Am I wrong or am I right? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

4 comments

    • You should consult a dermatologist. Of course, you can search on Youtube for remedies like using castor oil to help grow the hair back. However the dermatologist will help determine if the hair follicles are damaged beyond repair, of if they are ok and just need a break. Hope this helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

