Fun Hair Colors To Try on Natural Hair with NO BLEACH


how-to-dye-natural-hair-using-no-bleach-thatclassyafrochic

I always get questions about my hair color by ladies (and gents) who wish to explore the magical world of dyed natural hair, but are afraid of bleach.

Personally, I think that if you wan’t vibrant hair that lasts a while, you will have to pre-lighten it.

However there are some bomb hair color options you can try that don’t involve bleach. Like at all!

Here are three ways to sprinkle color into your life (or hair lol) without ever needing to hear of bleach (you can thank me later πŸ˜‰ )

Vibrant Eye Shadows

This one is super fun, simple, and easy to wash out. Use your favorite rich eyeshadow pigments to add streaks of color, or all-over high/low-lights. This can be achieved by rubbing eyeshadows on hair that has a little product in it, so the shadow sticks. This is super easy to remove (i.e. can rub off on EVERYTHING) but the results are beautiful. Here is one of my favorite tutorials on this method:

 

Liquid Hair Chalks

There are a few brands of liquid chalks out there, but I personally used the Garnier Color StylerΒ in the shade Purple ManiaΒ and fell in love with the results! The color lasts longer than the eyeshadow method, and even stayed on a little after washing. One con to these products is that they can make your hair feel hard at first (they use waxes + clays) but the color payoff is amazing. It almost looked like I dyed my hair this purple color!

(FIND OUT HOW I USED THE HAIR CHALK HERE)

img_4069

Hair Spray Paint

Like the liquid hair chalks, there are numerous “spray colors” around. The most popular is Jerome Russel BWild hair colors. I of course could not find it at my beauty barber supply store, instead they had the Jerome Russel Temp’ry hair color sprays which still did the trick. The only thing about these is that they really mimic spray paint, so you have to have a method when spraying it on. Not to close to your hair, and in downward motions to get it as even as possible. I tried pink, but I was inspired by the purple shade in MyRayeRaye’s hair dying video:

img_4318

Semi-Permanent Hair Dye

Ok, so I added this as a bonus because, generally speaking, you do have to lighten your hair to a certain degree to display a semi permanent hair color. However, there are many people who enjoy the low-lights that can be seen in the hair while using semi permanent hair dyes on their natural hair. Some of my favorite brands are Manic Panic, Adore, and Sparkles. **Note that richer colors (Red, Blue, Purple) will likely show up more. Any type of neon or pastels won’t work, without your hair being pre-lightned.

I actually did this years ago before using bleach on my hair and got some great results, but her are some awesome results from using semi perm. colors on unbleached natural hair:

This is me YEARS ago lol I’m embarassed and proud, it’s my most watched vid!

 

Have you tried any of these methods before? Was it a fail or success? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

