My Weight Loss Journey for 2017! From a size 16 to a size 8.


College Made Me Fat!

College has been a great experience for me so far. However with the increased stress,  poor sleeping habits, poor eating choices, and lack of time for exercise, it has also been detrimental to my health.

I started of in school at a nice US 8-10 size, I was a bit healthy and active with minimal stress. Fast forward, 4 years later and I was at my heaviest being a US 14-16!

Now don’t get me wrong, I do know that as we get older, hormone changes  can result in weight gain. But I also know that my poor habits as a result of stressing myself to do well caused me to be extremely tired. Having lack of sleep made me not want to visit the gym or eat better.

I Made a Change for The Better 🙂 

IMG_5272

 

This previous semester (Fall 2016) I decided to make a change. I was take 5 3-credit courses and was super stressed, however, I no longer wanted stress  my excuse for not making better choices! I started working out 2-3 times a week at the gym provided at my University. Starting with 45-50 minutes of low to medium intensity cardio. Then I increased the value of my workouts by going 4-5 times a week with medium to high intensity workouts for 30 minutes! I also added strength training

I started meal prepping so I wouldn’t make poor food choices. And I started taking my water bottle with me everywhere! Having snacks like sliced apples, roasted almonds, or sliced cucumbers in my book bags helped keep my cravings down while I was in class.

Now currently, I am a size 12, and I’m proud of myself! My clothes are fitting loosely (time to go shopping! 😉 ) and I’ve seen improvements in my sleeping patterns and ability to handle stress.

Things I Could Have Done Better

Now that my body is used to working out and handling cardio, I know that my diet needs to be improved. As finals week approached, I lost interest in meal prepping since I had no time. Instead I would grab whatever was in my reach (chips, cookies, candy, etc.) at my schools store, and would eat those instead. So for 2017 I plan on meal prepping even more, and trying easy recipes to reduce time.

My Goals for 2017!

For this upcoming year I hope to continue my weight loss journey and accomplish these goals:

  • make it to a US women’s size 8
  • be able to run 5 miles without stopping
  • start lifting 50-70 pounds when doing strength training
  • Improve flexibility ( I want to do the splits! lol)
  • maintain my curvy shape (squats here we go!)

How will I achieve these goals:

I will continue some of the routines that I have followed during the Fall, while also including a few things:

  • drinking more water
  • intermittent fasting
  • do more yoga +stretching after workouts
  • meal prepping and sticking to the meals this time!
  • decrease sweet consumption to about 2 items per week
  • decrease snack consumption to about 2 items per week
  • get at least 8 hours of rest per day
  • have fun with my workouts!

Will You Join Me?

Follow my blog and let’s continue to support each other! I will be posting weekly (on Saturday’s) How my week went, any new workouts I’ve tried, and some fun meal prep videos!

That way you’ll be able to see my progress as the weeks/months go along.

I’ll also be collaborating with a few fitness and health brands so stay tuned for some giveaways! 😉

Instagram: facebook.com/thatclassyafrochic

Facebook: facebook.com/thatclassyafrochic

Leave a Reply

