Maintaining my Straightened Natural Hair


 

This past Tuesday I tried something new and straightened my hair. It’s been over 3 years since I’ve applied heat to my hair so I was scared and excited!

Heat Damage in the Past

My last flat iron experience left my hair damaged, brittle, and dry. So I made sure to only use heat twice: once for blow drying, and another for the flat iron. I used to apply as much heat as possible to get my hair straight, but not this time! Heat damage is the devil lol so Im trying to avoid that at all costs!

 

Protecting Hair at Night

At night I sleep with my hair in two braids, on on each side. If I want a curly look, I’ll put four bantu knots in my hair. Two in the front, and two in the back. Doing this helps me avoid using extra heat to curl my hair!

I use my satin bonnet or sleep on my satin pillow case to avoid frizzy hair caused by static electricity (hair rubbing on cotton).

I so love my results! My hair feels healthier and is so bouncy and soft.

Do you use heat in your hair? 

Let me know in the comments! 

Follow my social media:

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/thatclassyafrochic

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/thatclassyafrochic

Leave a Reply

