Aunt Jackie’s Curl La La |Buy it or Leave it?


<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18333221/?claim=vtgpzybsvwh”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

img_4244

Aunt Jackie’s Curl La La Defining Curl Custard Product Review:

To buy or not to buy? That is the question! In this product review I will be sharing my thoughts on Aunt Jackie’s Curl La La Defining Curl Custard after using it for about 3 weeks.

Recently I died my hair (Click Here to see the color I have) so my hair is more dry than usual. This is normal, especially since I bleached my hair, so my hair is craving more moisture and protein now.

I picked up this product at my local beauty supply store (Beauty Plus they’re black owned!) as I wanted to try something new this time. This 15 oz jar was the same as an 8 oz shea moisture product, so I decided to save bucks and use this.

Smell:

To be honest, the smell reminds me of cheap perfume from Dollar Tree. It’s like a cheap, fruity, grape now-and-later smell that can be overwhelming. It does fade once it settles on the air, but still lol.

Consistency:

The consistency of Aunt Jackie’s Curl La La Defining Curl Custard is thick, which I like because it can be used after washing hair and won’t be dripping out.

Styling and Application:

I used the product on several styles like the No heat Stretch on my hair

IMG_4275.JPG

And the results were beautiful! My hair was soft to the touch and was easy to detangle with my fingers. I loved my results and looked forward to using it some more, but then something bad happened…

I noticed that my ends were REALLY DRY the next day, like super dry they felt like I needed to cut them off! I thought my hair was just thirsty and need a deep condition, I did that, used the Aunt Jackie’s Curl La La custard again, let my hair air-dry, and my hair was fine…

Until the next day when my hair felt like straw. Frustrated I thought to look at the ingredients (something I should have done in the store) and found that Glycerin is ingredient #6 😦 . Shea butter is also a top ingredient being #4 and it has been known to cause dryness.

I would like to mention that my hair was fine before using the Aunt Jackie’s curl la la product, so I’m sure my hair just didn’t like the product. However I also know that my color treated hair likes different products than my virgin hair, so I’m not sure if this would work for someone with virgin (not dyed) hair or not. I just know that it made my hair dry, and now I’m sad because I have so much of this left 😦

Should you Buy/Try?

Everybody’s hair is different. Your hair might love this product, however I would say try it out first. But only if you could get a sample size or find it in a smaller jar!

Full Ingredient list

Use this to determine if your hair would like this before you purchase 😉

Aqua (water), propylene glycol, PPG-1 trideceth-6, Butyrospermum parkin (shea butter) fruit, glycine soja (soybean) oil, glycerin, ojea europaea (olive) fruit oil, polyquaternium-37, propylene glycol, dicaprylate/dicaprate, cetyl alcohol, parfum (fragrance), dimethicone, lanolin oil, acrylamidopropyltrimonium chloride/acrylamide copolymer, stearalkonium chloride, d-limonene, hexyl cinnamic aldehyde, linalool, amyl cinnamic aldehyde, lilial, benzyl alcohol, citronellol, hydroxycitronellal, cinnamic alcohol, 5-chloro-2methyl-4-isothiazolin-3-one, 2-methyl-4isothiazolin-3-one, hydrolyzed quinoa, ci 17200 (red 33), cl 42090 (blue 1).

Have you used this product before?

Let me know in the comments!

Follow me on Facebook and Instagram:

facebook.com/thatclassyafrochic

instagram.com/thatclassyafrochic

Leave a Reply

