3 Afro Curlies You Should Follow | That Classy Afro Chic


3-afro-curlies-you-should-know

The cultural switch for natural hair is beautiful. I have seen more kinks and curls on tv and print (pictures, ads) than ever before. However there still seems to be a preference for looser wavier curls. I don’t see as many kinky-coily (type 4 if your in to hair typing) beauties being featured as often.

To counter act that, I wanted to find and share women with kinkier textures to talk about their journey with natural hair.

So, let me introduce you to

@idorenyinakp

Nigerian doctor and fashion blogger, Idorenyina is a must to follow! Her page is filled with cute hair styles for thicker textures, outfit inspiration, and fitness goals (her shape is amazing!). She also has a youtube channel showing her ootd’s and workouts. You can find her channel here.

What’s your favorite fall hairstyle? I don’t have styles particular to the weather but in general I love a roller set, and when I’m tired, putting my hair in braids.

What are three products you swear by? IΒ always do a hot oil treatment before washing with my favourite oils being olive, avocado, and [Jamaican Black Castor Oil]. I also recommend hair mayonnaise by ORS for deep conditioning.

What tips could you share for someone who’s new to taking care of natural hair?Β To a newcomer -> taking care of natural hair is different than your relaxed hair. As such, be patient only deal with it when you have time to handle it and take natural hair product “rules” (e.g. no sulfates, no mineral oil, only cowash) with a pinch of salt. What may work for one person, might not work for you so experiment and see what products do and do not perform on your curls.

@shoonnee1

I stumbled upon Shoonnee’s Instagram page from her cute bun fro hawk look (in the first picture). She’s also a Youtuber and created a tutorial on the fabulous style. Click here to watch the video also make sure to subscribe to her channel πŸ˜‰ .

What’s your favorite fall hairstyle? Flat twist rows.

What are three products you swear by? I swear by my own whipped shea butter, black african soap shampoo, and the third one is hard as I love gel for my hair homemade or eco styler.

What tips could you share for someone who’s new to taking care of natural hair? I can honestly say I use these three product every week.

@sayotivity

What’s your favorite fall hairstyle?Β We don’t really have fall in the tropics, but I mostly keep my hair in protective styles. My fave is cornrows and then I wear wigs for extended periods.

What are three products you swear by? Coconut oil, Kimmaytube’s leave in conditioner recipe (mix conditioner with jojoba oil, aloe vera juice and castor oil) and my oatmeal deep conditioning treatment.

What tips could you share for someone who’s new to taking care of natural hair? Don’t buy everything out there, keep it simple and test products one at a time to find what works for you and be patient.

Make sure to check out their Instagram pages and Youtube channels!

Would you like to see more content like this?

Let me know in the comments!

Follow me on Facebook and Instagram:

facebook.com/thatclassyafrochic

instagram.com/thatclassyafrochic

 

 

Leave a Reply

