Coloring My Natural Hair: Copper Brown and Raspberry Twist by Adore


IMG_5262

With school starting I always feel the need to spice up my style by coloring my hair. Lately, I have been letting my hair grow out so I had about 9 inches of virgin hair that I have been excited to color! I revisited my staple hair color, red, but this time I wanted to have a copper-y raspberry tint to my hair instead of the cherry red I usually go for.

Here is my journey of color! I would like to say that all product were purchased with my own money and I spent around 4 hours doing this process, as I was trying my hardest to prevent damage. So, Let’s begin…

Getting Out My Tools

To prepare for coloring my hair, I laid out everything that I needed for this job! Along with the items in the pictures, I also had the items listed below:

  1. Hair Color: I had Copper Brown and Raspeberry Twist by Adore
  2. Coloring Bowl and Applicator Brush: For easy application of bleach and hair dye
  3. Shea Butter: I didn’t have petroleum jelly, so I used this instead
  4. Disposable Gloves and Shower caps: I used different gloves for bleaching, coloring, and dying my hair. I also used about 4 shower caps, as I needed two for bleach and 2 for coloring.
  5. Rubber Bands and Wide Tooth Comb: Used to detangle and separate hair for process
  6. Bleach: Purchased from Sally’s (a while ago), this is super strength
  7. Developer: I used 10 vol, which processes slow, but I found that this level protects my hair from getting damaged too soon.
  8. Ion Repair System: a protein and deep conditioner of which I should have purchased 2 lol.
  9. Old Shirt: I used my handy dandy bleach shirt which I use every time I color my hair
  10. Dark towel/shirt: I personally use an dark t-shirt to dry my hair, but a dark towel is acceptable.
  11. Blow Dryer: This will be needed to process hair color and the Ion protein treatment
  12. Cheap Conditioner: Used to mix in with hair color (crème of nature)
  13. Leave In conditioner: what I used to twist my hair

On to preparing my hair for color! ❤

Prepping My Hair For Color

I started off with a 3 day old twist out that had a little bit of shea butter on the ends, from when I first twisted my hair. I detangled with the wide tooth comb, making sure to get all of the tangles and shed hair out before applying bleach. Likewise, I triedd a new method of separating my hair that I saw on YouTube (I should have known better, keep reading to find out why *face palm*) that involved twisting my hair at the roots and then using a rubber band to prevent me from putting bleach near my roots. I then proceeded to twist the hair to keep it stretched.

Applying the Bleach

I am not a professional cosmetologist nor do I have a license in coloring hair, I do have over 5 years of experience bleaching my hair to get the results that I want. With that being said, I used 2.5 scoops of the super strength bleaching powder mixed with enough of the 10 vol. developer to get a smooth consistency. I applied the bleach to the front first, focusing on the middle up, since I had pre-lightened ends in the front. Then I proceeded to apply the bleach in the back. Then I applied two shower caps, since my hair is super thick. I allowed the front to process for 30 mins, while the back processed for about 26 mins. During the last 5 minutes of letting the bleach process, I applied the bleach to the ends in the front, so they could lighten a bit more.

Mixing the Color

To get the color that I wanted, I mixed equal parts 1:1 of the Copper Brown and Raspberry Twist with a little bit of the crème of nature conditioner so that it would have a thicker consistency. I love Adore hair colors, but they are liquidy, so adding the conditioner really helps!

Rinsing Out The Color

So while applying the bleach and color, I left the rubber bands in, so the application would be easier. However, in doing so, there are spots that did not get any color at all! Next time, I will remove the rubber bands after applying the bleach, so I can ensure the color is added everywhere. But oh well, you live and you learn, right?

Keeping Hair Strong and Healthy

After apllying the color, I used the Ion Repair system. The pack came with both the protein and the deep conditioner, even though I used 1 and should have used 2, I have just enough to cover my hair and allow the protein and deep conditioner to saturate my hair. This stuff smells awesome and I noticed my hair feeling strong yet soft at the same time! I will be using this again.

Styling and Results

I don’t usually use heat in my hair, especially after using bleach, so I used my Eden Body Works Coconut Leave-in Conditioner to do a twist-out. I had about 16 twists in my head (8 in the front, 8 in the back) as I was going for a big hair look. The pictures below were shot in different lights so the dimension of the hair color could be shown! I’m so in love with my new hair color ❤

What do you all think? Let me know in the comments below!

Also make sure to check out my social media pages:

 

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/urbanprestigestore

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/urbanprestigestore

Website: http://www.urbanprestigeclothing.com

10 comments

    • Hi Candra! 🙂 thanks for taking the time to read my post. You should definitely try it! There are washable options if you’re not ready for the commitment

      Like

  1. Your hair looks beautiful! I have so much respect for women who bleach and color their hair at home. I was always way too scared and worried I would damage it or just make a mistake I didn’t know how to fix, lol. But as you said, you have years of experience, and that’s why it went so well. 🙂 How often do you have to refresh your color? I’ve always heard that red colors fade fast, but I’ve had my burgundy for a while now and I hardly ever have to go in for more color.

    Like

    • Sorry for just seeing this! I refresh my color every 3-4 weeks, only because it starts fading to an orange-red and I don’t want to look like ronald mcdonald lol. Burgundy is the best, it still looks awesome even with fading

      Like

Leave a Reply

